A body miracle

I am surprised my body
made these other bodies
so far with no apparent serious mistakes;
while I am physically rather stupid, incapable
for instance of understanding electricity;
while I have no idea, none whatsoever, of the
complexities of their construction.

I couldn’t tell you how it’s done,
yet as a miracle it happens they do function,
they can move and talk and learn and work,
befriend and love an other. Laugh and cry,
while I am clumsy like an ox.
I am surprised each time I think
my body made me mother.

Comments on: "A body miracle" (12)

  1. This is a lovely poem.

    And I bet your sons are immensely proud of you

    Arohanui 🙂
    xxx

    • Hi David 🙂 thank you very much for thinking so!!

      I think they are surprised of me rather than proud lol

      Arohanui

      xxx

  2. the least of us is ne less than a magnificent creation

  3. Creation is in the blood, methinks…

  4. Sorry Ina, I’m always picking you up on typos, and I know it’s a horrid habit (particularly as I enjoy your poetry so much). I’m suggesting that ‘an other’ should be ‘another’, but never mind, because I like eccentric usage anyway. 🙂

  5. Wonderful, Ina … looking at yourself in such an honest way … and yet appreciating the miracle of how life is given. Very unique reflection on motherhood. XO

Leave a Reply

