Cold

Now even your dog won’t know me
when we pass in the street –
but how she loved me as a puppy.
I see her aging body stroll
with pain, deformed slow steps.
One day she’s gonna bite me surely
if I try to pad her on the back.
It must mean something
that it means more to me
what the dog thinks than what you think.
Cold is in your Lassie’s eyes
and it’s the heat of Summer.

Comments on: "Cold" (8)

  1. Shoulda had a pet elephant – have better memories.

  2. Hey, Ina 🙂
    Another good one…

  3. Don’t blame the dog for the man! 🙂 Love this, Ina. XO

Leave a Reply

