Heaven’s kindness

More of such moments would mean love,
we both can’t handle that right now
so this must be the end, you say.
You get your winter coat and put it on.

You walk away to catch your train
and there I go as well to be with you a little longer,
for one more of such moments as if I have not had enough.
The rain pours sadness over our shoulders.

I find your hand, still warm, familiar, squeeze it,
this letting go seems like the making of another moment.
You slip out of my touch and I of yours
as trains don’t wait for minds to change.

More of such moments would mean love, you said.
So this must be the end. We both can’t handle more.
The rain is all that’s left of you,
and heaven’s kindness lets it pour for hours.

Comments on: "Heaven’s kindness" (4)

  1. So nicely and acutely observed.. I hope some of these verses are not from personal experience, because that would be a waste of you, in my opinion, but maybe from past experience. This line “trains don’t wait for minds to change.” captur3s the finality and sadness very well. Always love your verses, but then you may have noticed that by now 🙂

    • Hi Peter, thank you very much. I use a lot of my past in the poems, maybe it needed much time for me to see what happend, relationships that weren’t meant to be etc.
      I am very glad you read my poems!
      Stay safe in the storm! 🙂

  2. [Sometimes I think it would be good if we could actually grow our winter coats]

Leave a Reply

