On the beach

Fading shadows mean you are forgotten by the Sun my friend,
your footsteps blown away by a North Western storm,
the seagull cries above your absence, overrules your faint goodbye
that might have lingered on a calmer day,
only what you said before remains between us
to live on a while before that too is gone.
This beach is now deserted.

New clouds, new dangers may take over.
New shadows chase me over land. I stand alone here on this isle,
searching for our truth in the seabird’s silent stare
and for a moment I do see you, a reflection in its eye:
you turn away from me. Yes we are through
and will be strangers from now on.
I know and watch the seabird fly over the greyish waves. The end.

Comments on: "On the beach" (4)

  1. Beautifully sad Ina.

    And I have started reading your book; it’s beautiful and it continues to amaze me how well you write poetry in English 😊

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you very much! I haven’t seen the book yet myself and I am very pleased that you like it! πŸ™‚ L&H xx

  2. Hauntingly beautiful, Ina….

Leave a Reply

