Her husband is in hospital

“I gave you seven sons
every birth a fucking nightmare
you always too drunk to call the midwife
or help me into bed.
I got them all on the freaking sofa,
and the stains never went out of the fabric.
All sons have your features,
all of them drink with your speed
except for Ronny who joined the ballet
and who gives me roses on my birthday
which was a hell of a day for my mother
who loved dancing
but after her eleventh child
she could hardly walk anymore
let alone cross her legs.
She would have liked Ronny
as he can do a split
so don’t be too hard on him
for hitting you with that spade
after you called him a flipping faggot.
He didn’t mean it in a bad way
and the doctor said
you might still get some feeling in your spine.
Imagine that.”

πŸ™‚

Comments on: "Her husband is in hospital" (15)

  1. whoa – this hits you like a Mack truck

  2. This is simply wonderful Ina!

    My mother-in-law gave birth to seven sons! I dont think her scene mirorred this one though! Lol

    L&H xx

  3. LOL

    I am not sure whether Paul Durcan is a good influence on you or a bad.

    But whichever I am enjoying the poems

    Much Love
    David
    xxx

  4. A tragic story for all too many women…

  5. Beer buck underestimates the strength of ballet dancer. Headline. Like, who knew? πŸ˜€

  6. Hilarious. Just outstanding. I loved the ending with its note of comic optimism regarding his deserved injuries

  7. Sound like somebody got what he had coming to him. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

