Update

Earlier this year this blog reached its 1000th posting and today “Observation” is the official 1000th poem here, as far as I can check in my sloppy kind of administration (I miss a few poems here and there I think lol. )

Poetry is not about quantity. I know. I have often been told I post too many poems. But what else to do with them… I tried not writing, but that is not really a solution.

After three years, I do not consider myself a poet (yet? who knows) . That title is for the ones who are really good. I write my Dutch novels and I try to write poetry. There is a difference ๐Ÿ™‚ I realize I need to learn a lot more and I enjoy doing that very much.

Still, this number 1000 is something I would like to celebrate. I started writing and posting my English poems here on November 4, 2010. Almost three years later I am very grateful for everyone who has been reading my stuff, commented, follow my blog, told me of errors and encouraged me to write more. I am very happy and honoured to have found online friendships with other writers. And I met 1 in real life! ๐Ÿ™‚ I really love the English language, that is why I sometimes think I should not try to write in it lol. I do apologize for all the mistakes I made, grammar wise, spelling wise, other wise.

In a few days “Amor” -see sidebar- will finally be released, my second anthology of poems in English, but I will post about that when it actually happens. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a nice Autumn ๐Ÿ™‚ I took the photo here on Terschelling, 7 okt. 2013

7okt13wandeling 052

Comments on: "Update" (32)

  1. You’re not a poet and have two poetry books and written poetry for the last two years? Golly that sounds like a poet to me! CONGRATS!

  2. Writing take a lot of effort. We learn by trial and error. Your English is amazing. I wish I had the time to master another language. I would love to read Dante’s inferno in the original language. Thank you for sharing your word and your knowledge.

  3. I agree with Pete!! Ina, you understimate how good your English poems are.

    And strangely, some of the sentences that you form slightly differently because of language difference, fit in so well, sound extremely effective and add to your poetry rather than take away from it.

    Im really looking forward to “Amor”!

    And you have taken some amazing atmospheric photos recently. The one you have included with this post resembles, in my opinion, the Dark Hedges in Ireland (the one David painted on iPad).

    I must admit I do sometimes find it dificult to keep up with commenting on all your poems, but this has nothing to do with their content, its just a time thing for me, as I am determined to try and spend less time on the computer. I do, however, read them all!

    Keep writing and stop putting yourself down; your English is great and as others have said, I wish I had a second language. You definitely are a poet! ๐Ÿ™‚ L&H xx

    • Hi Christine,
      thank you very much. I am trying to write English the way English write but I suppose there are some differences. I think English speaking people are very tolerant towards anyone who tries to use their language and it is probably why it is the #1 language in the world. Maybe we should all speak English and so much would become a lot easier! Thank you very much also for all the support I got from you. You have always been so very kind in comments! ๐Ÿ™‚ L&H xxx

  4. That really is an amazing number. In my humble opinion you are a women with an amazing sensibility and powers of observation which are reflected in your poems. You have a great deal to be proud of. That English is not your first language makes your efforts all the more remarkable: that is why I visit your Blog so often

    • Hi Peter, thank you very much! That is a very nice thing to say. I am very grateful that you read my poems. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Congratulations! That’s an amazing triumph ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. congratulations on an exciting milestone – never doubt that you are indeed a poet – one I always enjoy reading

  7. Gefeliciteerd met deze mijlpaal, Ina!! You are a poet in my eyes..:-)
    groetjes, Francina.

  8. David Eric Cummins said:

    Congratulations on reaching such a milestone! I’ve been writing poetry for 26 years and I’m nowhere near 1000 poems yet, lol! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Your English is excellent, by the way. Better even than some native English speakers I’ve read! I hope someday your novels are translated into English. I would love to read them!

    • wow David, thank you very much. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am afraid those novels will never make it to an English translation ๐Ÿ™‚ but some of them are in French if that helps ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I’m a poet and poetry editor, and I regularly visit this blog. Nuff said.

  10. t h i n g s + f l e s h said:

    cheers Ina, and please, never stop writing lovely poems in English. i would miss yours terribly. tony

  11. Move forward friend ! Find the different facets that can edify and strengthen your foundation ! Blessings ~ Debbie

  12. perishandrepent said:

    Hello Ina. I am a creature of categorization, and I try in vain with your poetry. I like your poetry, because it keeps me guessing and then to find myself as I guess we must, in poetry we like.

    Congratulations and best to all near and future successes.

    • Hi John, thank you very much. I am still learning my way around writing poetry, that is probably why I don’t fit in any category yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. the photo is stunning, like a Constable painting. a kilo of extraordinary poems is stunning, mind boggling in fact – and it also stuns me that you have a shadow of a doubt about calling yourself a poet – but whatever you choose to call yourself you are still a poet and i am constantly inspired by your words – thank you for them Ina…

  14. Hi Ina,

    I have been privileged to accompany you on most of your journey into poetry.

    I have thoroughly enjoyed all of it.

    Have no doubt that you are a poet. and a very good one too.

    Sometimes I can’t keep up when you post a lot, but that should not deter you from posting – I can savour them as they pass through my inbox even if I can’t get here.

    I look forward to many more poems.

    And perhaps a novel written in English!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David,

      wow thank you very much. You know that means very much to me.

      If I ever am a poet, than I hope I shall be a good one as yourself. It must be fun to have you for a workshop runner btw ๐Ÿ™‚

      I am never sure if it was the last poem, but so far it never was lol.

      I am still working on that novel ๐Ÿ™‚

      Arohanui
      xxx

  15. I agree with Pete also. Your poems are wonderful

Leave a Reply

