P

Now I am talking to a coffee mug at 5 am,
thinking of the night before.
Nights have ways to make things worse.
But reality came just in time
for some overdue adjustments. An early rise.

Often good ideas join the dark of night.
These days I tell them to get lost, I need my sleep.
They take their attachΓ©-cases and turn their backs at me,
I hope to memorize some of their truth
but can’t be bothered now to lift a pen.

Today I shall not try to be
a better soul, only a coffeedrinker
who worries about rain and disappearing socks
and why it is that all you do when I am dozing off
is going for a p and wake me up to say so.

Comments on: "P" (16)

  1. feathersofhappenstance said:

    I truly can relate to this. Thank you for sharing this poem πŸ™‚

  2. Love it! First read of the morning and it gave me a big smile!

    L&H xx

  3. perishandrepent said:

    With coffee there must be hope in that, if only the hope, the coffee will work. πŸ˜‰

    iridescencegliding.wordpress.org

  4. I like the image of ideas with attache cases.

  5. You brought to mind this poem by Fleur Adcock –

    Things

    by Fleur Adcock

    There are worse things than having behaved foolishly in public.
    There are worse things than these miniature betrayals,
    committed or endured or suspected; there are worse things
    than not being able to sleep for thinking about them.
    It is 5 a.m. All the worse things come stalking in
    and stand icily about the bed looking worse and worse
    and worse.

    Arohanui
    David xxx

    • Hi David

      lol I just come from your blog πŸ™‚

      Thank you for the poem. I remember you once mentioned it to me πŸ™‚ It says it all, really.

      I need sleep, that is for sure though. There are not many things worse than no sleep at all.

      Thank you very much for reminding me of this poem!

      Arohanui
      xxx

  6. Made me smile – I can relate! πŸ™‚

  7. speaking as a card carrying insomniac – yes – absolutely…

  8. Reality … yes, it is still there … in the midst of – or should I say, in spite of – creativity! Perhaps not a bad thing after all. πŸ™‚ XO

Leave a Reply

