Amazed

The latest of the mist that lingers tells me there’s a moon,
but otherwise the morning waits.
Some crows are sleeping in the dead tree up the dune.
I see them shiver in the damp. Wars start like that
and horror movies.
Our laundry hangs forgotten on the line, the clothes still soaked.
A spider made a web
between your dark blue boxershorts and the wooden table.
This is my world. I breath in Autumn air.
Old air, old earth, of moss and mould.
The crows awake, their screams are nails scratching a chalkboard.
Above me lies the lid of leaden sky.
The day repeats itself and I am still amazed.

Comments on: "Amazed" (21)

  1. perishandrepent said:

    The omniscient yet to be born…I await her wisdom.

    http://iridescencegliding.wordpress.com/

  2. This is a fabulous poem!!! Love it. πŸ™‚

    L&H xx

  3. The soaked laundry…the spider web between the boxer shorts and the wooden table….such wonderful specific images….

    • Hi Cynthia, thank you very much :).
      I think I found an error in the poem, so I changed “lays” into “lies” πŸ™‚

  4. t h i n g s + f l e s h said:

    you’re amazing, Ina. lovely verse. x tony

  5. Beautiful poem, Ina, and I echo Cynthia’s favorite lines! Lovely! xx

  6. A thoughtful morning, well painted.

  7. Yes, agreed, and thank you for writing it, “Amazed”, that is…

  8. Lend me some crows, I’m having a too-quiet morning.

  9. A very special poem from the first line, Ina! A world – your world – that is so entwined with nature … in all its moods. This poem speaks out of its soul … and yours. Just beautiful! XO β™₯

  10. Stunningly sensual images Ina – one of my favs…

Leave a Reply

