Autumn

The cold and silenced grey of Autumn never liked me,
it throws bitter glimpses at me from behind the dying trees.
All over Autumnโ€™s face mortality is written,
my make-believe of going on forever and forever young!
stumbles crippled in the wood to hide in a deserted hole.
A mist outcasts me from all colours, I feel locked in
and hated throughout Winter. This is no illusion but the truth
and will be so until the light of April comes my way.

Comments on: "Autumn" (8)

  1. Lovely poem Ina. It tells me you are not a winter person. I am feeling a little sad this year that summer has passed, but trying to assemble in some way the good things about autumn and winter. I think a winter with plenty of sunshine would help. Fingers crossed ๐Ÿ™‚

    L&H xx

    • Thank you Christine. It would be nice to see some sunshine! I used to cope with Winter a lot better. This place is rather deserted after Summer. You can walk for hours without seeing anyone. That is quite unique in my overpopulated country ๐Ÿ™‚ and it has some charm, but it also makes me feel very alone at times. The older I get, the more of a people-person I am becoming ๐Ÿ™‚ . L&H xx

  2. That’s interesting about becoming a people person. I seem to want it all ways in that sometimes I feel very much like that and other times I just want everyone to go away! Perhaps Im a “bit” peculiar! Lol xx

  3. Oh, you really don’t like winter, do you? I always feel the season change right when they are meant to … and usually I am ready (although, since we are having such lovely weather right now, I am holding on to keeping my summer flowers going a little while longer. Soon I will have to let go). I love autumn: the light, the shadows, the changing colors, and even the decay which is just giving way to winter’s sleep and eventual renewal. But it is a beautifully written poem speaking so honestly of your feelings. And that makes it very powerful, too. XO โ™ฅ

    • Hi Diane, thank you very much! You live like a nature person should ๐Ÿ™‚ going with the seasons. I would not mind keeping Summer a bit longer (like untill Christmas ๐Ÿ™‚ ) as Summers are never that very hot here. Sometimes flowers survive Winter even if they are not supposed to. ๐Ÿ™‚ So I hope to see them again next time! โ™ฅ xx

  4. I’m with you all the way Ina – by January I’m more than ready for Mexico and all points south…

Leave a Reply

