To leap an abyss

An abyss on either side of me
I stand and wait for senses to return.
It’s dark and every step I take
means falling back. The crumbling road
behind me is already overgrown with
strings of ivy that won’t let me go,
and purple toads are watching in the shades.
I have no choice. I take the leap
and I shall do so every day
until I am where I can rest. Where I am me.

Comments on: "To leap an abyss" (8)

  1. A vivid, atmospheric and evocative image.

  2. Sometimes its very difficult to be bare, unmasked and rest. Wonderful writing !

  3. a long leap of faith and another unforgettable poem Ina…

  4. I love what this expresses, Ina, and will share!

Leave a Reply

