My view

From where I stand the world is sea,
this isle a boat that doesn’t move,
and now and then some seagulls come
to tell us of how life goes on
over the edge that splits
the water from the sky.
Their mournful screams keep us in place.
From where I stand the sea is world,
I’m on a boat that is an island.

At times when air is clear
I watch a bit of world across the water:
some windmills show, churches emerging
all pale and trembling, not sure of their shape.
From where I stand the world looks an illusion,
where birds escape from every now and then
to tell us that it is not better elsewhere either.
From where I stand I know the world is sea,
but from your point of view this merely is an island.

Comments on: "My view" (15)

  1. To be “on a boat that doesn’t move…” Point of view is everything, isn’t it?

  2. If you’re very quiet, you can hear the diesel motor chugging and the whine of the wind in the radio antennae…

  3. salty serenity…

  4. I love the way your thoughts meander Ina. This is a perfect example! 🙂

    L&H xx

  5. ‘From where I stand the sea is world,
    I’m on a boat that is an island.’

    What an amazing poem, expressing … quite literally … your point of view. I felt like I was standing there with you … looking at the illusion of the world (which, perhaps, is really what it is). XO

Leave a Reply

