September

September now, a Summer gone,
I am not ready for this change.
The days already feel so old,
the leaves no longer fresh and crisp.

My Winter clothes still out of reach,
I hate those knitted sweaters each
and every one: reminders of
the dark cold days approaching soon.

The sun was such a real good friend,
of course our time now has to end,
this is the way the seasons are,
a moment with a sunshine smile.

This friendship lasted just a while,
yet, I’m not ready to let go,
not looking forward to the snow,
I loved this Summer, what it meant:

The light, the warmth; it will be far
away from us for months to come,
so I shall try to dream me some,
to tide me over for the Winter.

πŸ˜‰

Comments on: "September" (8)

  1. Maybe we will get lucky. Get a Indian Summer. A beautiful poem for September and the fall.

    • Hi John, who knows! Today is like Autumn, but the forecast is good, it will get warmer later in the week here πŸ™‚ Thank you very much!

  2. I always think of September as a beginning rather than just an end to summer. Maybe that’s because Autumn is a breathtakingly beautiful season here in New Hampshire. What’s it like in Terschelling?

    • Hi Cynthia,
      Autumn has wunderful colours, I agree. Maybe I should see it your way, as a new beginning! I just loved this Summer. Like a new phase in life, I suppose I need to get used to Fall πŸ™‚

  3. I don’t like this time either, and the faint sense of mourning for summer it brings,. You express it so well and gently here , Always a delight to visit

  4. bitter sweet, beginnings, endings, cycles, cycles…

Leave a Reply

