Peace

A lot goes on elsewhere but here is silence;
no harassment will take place when I’m alone
and rain can fall without disturbing peace.
I could pretend no other lives in the whole universe.

Somewhere you are around me though.
It seems that distance doesn’t matter now.
A lot goes on that I am not aware of,
so often I don’t understand the why and how.

One day this Earth is dead. We humans kill
whatever we can kill, we are that breed
and always will be so. In Syria they know.
But here I can pretend the world is good.

I watched the full moon shine over the water.
So quiet can it be. Deceivingly at ease.
There is no peace but when I am alone
why not pretend for just a moment that there is.

Comments on: "Peace" (6)

  1. powerful and moving

  2. This is so powerful Ina.

    I sometimes cant believe how I can sit “playing” on my iPad while news of Syria is skimming my consciousness. There will never be peace but what else is there to do, though, there and then but to “pretend for just a moment that there is” .

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine,

      thank you very much. It seems so odd that no one can do anything about what goes on there. It must be hell.

      L&H xx

  3. All powerful – reaches in and out from the personal to the world. This verse is especially good:

    ‘One day this Earth is dead. We humans kill
    whatever we can kill, we are that breed
    and always will be so. In Syria they know.
    But here I can pretend the world is good.’

    I can’t believe the evil that humans still do … XO

    • What is going on right now in Syria is so horrible, and it seems very unfair no one can do anything for various reasons. So they say anyway. xx

Leave a Reply

