Shadow

A lonesome figure near the shoreline,
your shadow drifted over the water
after your last words were gone,
after the tide washed the beach
rinsing memories we had to let go of.

Nothing remains to hold on to,
hear, silence falls over the waves
and water slips through my fingers.
Now and then the sea whispers
of days we could have been together.

I see your silhouette every time
I am there. I feel your presence,
as if you are walking beside me
but none of it is real now. Those days
are shadows moving fast away from land.

Comments on: "Shadow" (8)

  1. Beautiful Ina!

    I am guessing here but was this inspired at all by david’s drawing?

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine,
      thank you and yes it was ๐Ÿ™‚ It was the first thing I thought when I saw them, well the one of the Whitby beach that is ๐Ÿ™‚ so good guess!

      L&H xx

  2. I can hear the water slosh against the shore! Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

