Outnumbered

Lying in bed on my side
I push the world back for a little longer.
Thoughts flutter and return to silence.
I want no part of what is turning around
beneath my head. Beyond my sleep.
Iโ€™m slumbered.

But with the curtain moving,
sun spreading yellow on the wall,
the smell of coffee, thoughts of you
that slip in secretly by songs of birds,
I roll over and give in to another day.
Outnumbered.

๐Ÿ˜‰

Comments on: "Outnumbered" (8)

  1. Yes! Outnumbered, I know this feeling! It might be a very good day though so lets embrace it!! Easier to get up and about with the smell of that coffee! ๐Ÿ™‚

    L &H xx

  2. I like the build-up of ordinary details to create this state of mind, and the unusual use of “slumber” as an adjective. The rhythm of “lumbered” and “outnumbered” is very satisfying, I think!

    • Hi Cynthia, thank you. “I’m slumbered” probably is not the right English construction, but I liked to call it that lol. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. It works! It’s the creative stroke called “poetic license”…..

  4. This made me smile … and sigh. Been there, done that. As Cynthia said, it’s the ordinary that makes it an extraordinary poem! XO

Leave a Reply

