Extraction

They can replace all your body parts
with artificial, improved copies,
or you never needed them anyway.

Gone are your teeth, appendix,
a hip, a knee, a heart,
gallbladder, what have you,
and you live on, you are the same
but better. More prepared for eternity
as all the plastic and metal
will last longer than the organic stuff
that is originally you.

One day they shall invent
the immortal soul and then
you will be happy with science.

Comments on: "Extraction" (8)

  1. Fascinating thoughts Ina! Made me smile too πŸ™‚

    L&H xx

  2. Immortal soul, IS 1.0? Will it be open source, or will Apple and Samsung be suing each other for all eternity?

  3. Always love your poems. This one made me smile. Very neatly expressed. I’m sorry I’m not around as much. Some publisher asked me to write a book, and I’m a bit busy with that at the moment, but I will keep coming here , of course,. I love your poetry

    • Thank you very much and that is great news, that you were asked to write a book πŸ™‚ I can imagine that it is taking all of your time now. Good luck!

  4. What an interesting poem … I wouldn’t be happy with science if ‘it’ re-created the immortal soul! πŸ™‚ Very tongue-in-cheek, which you are so good at! XO

    • Thank you very much Diane. πŸ™‚ I think I would love to get me that artificial knee by now lol. xx

Leave a Reply

