Competition Results!

The results for the Aval Ballan poetry competition. I am a runner up! Yeah! πŸ™‚
my poem

Aval-Ballan Poetry Competition

It is 31st July at last and all the judging and deliberating has been done. The judging wasn’t easy, often the judges were not entirely unanimous about individual poems, and it often seemed a pity that they were not able to double or treble the number of runners-up. On the process of judging and the overall quality of the poetry, the judges made the following comments.

Lesley Haycock and Victoria Devaney:
The process of reading the submissions for the competition has been extremely enjoyable, challenging and difficult, all at the same time.Β The process required that we, as the creators of the artworks, set aside any intentions or feelings we may have had whilst painting and look at look at the images from the perspective of the poet. What inspired this particular poem? Does the poem give us a new understanding, a new insight, a new β€˜feeling’ about the…

View original post 637 more words

Comments on: "Competition Results!" (17)

  1. You got a mention which is great.

    • πŸ™‚ Thank you, my English teacher would have been really proud! I wish I could tell him, but he has passed away long time ago.

  2. Colin Morley said:

    A fantastic achievement, Ina. And I’m sure you’re right about your English teacher. Some teachers are inspirational, as was my French teacher, Charles Taylor. I wish I could write in French as eloquently as you do in English, though! Very pleased for you.

    • Thank you very much Colin! I am sure your French must be good, or you could not live amongst French for long πŸ™‚

  3. Congratulations Ina! This is a great achievement.

    Its very easy to forget English isn’t your first language! So your achievement here and in your English poetry books is even more impressive. Well done you!!

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you! πŸ™‚ there is a lot of English on tv, I think I learnt most of mine from watching (and listening to) Coronation Street, Peyton Place and Flipper. And there still is a lot to learn, I only know the top of the iceberg that is English! πŸ™‚

      L&H xx

  4. Great things to learn from! All of them! :). ❀

  5. Congratulations Ina! I shall follow their blog for a bit to make sure I read your poem.

  6. Yes, congratulations Ina!

  7. Congratulations, Ina! Your poetry (writing) is always a winner with me! XO

  8. I’ve now seen your poem, The Land Of Teal, Ina. It is very imaginative and a deserved to be selected!

Leave a Reply

