Summer Night

We are numb by the lasting heat wave,
our bodies wait for the night to pass
and nothing lasts in our memory.
Words we said once, now keep a distance
and stay hidden in wall paper shades.

Here we had children, in this old bed
they came from you and me together
from another world, another time
here they started. Here we shall end too.
The curtains dance on the thunder drum.

Why do I think of life and death now,
as lightning seems to want this moment
kept for eternity, you and me
and the furniture that knows it all.
Our naked bodies have no secrets.

The sheets are cold in this time machine,
our bed, a cover for a moment
as the cool won’t come this night. Won’t stay.
Numb we move away from each other,
waiting for the outburst of cold rain.

Comments on: "Summer Night" (8)

  1. At times I encounter poems that stop my world completely and forces me to repeat the lines. Yours is that kind of poem. Well done. Would you take a look at my work?
    http://medicatedwordzallowed.wordpress.com
    http://coconutspeak.wordpress.com

    • Thank you very much πŸ™‚ That is a wonderful comment.
      I went to your blog and commented, it is in moderation. Well done too! πŸ™‚

  2. I will be very glad too Ina when we get some of that rain to make the air lighter.

    With love
    David
    xxx

    • The weather has cooled down now, after a thunderstorm again last night.
      Looks like Autumn at the moment πŸ™‚
      Much love
      xxx

  3. Having just been through a horrible heatwave, this one resonates – only I share my bed with kitties (who still seem to want to cuddle when the last thing I need is fur all around me!) πŸ™‚ Seriously, it is a wonderful poem, Ina. XO β™₯

    • Hi Diane,

      thank you. Lol I know how that is with cats πŸ™‚ I remember having them sleep in my bed as well. So cosy! πŸ™‚
      XX β™₯

Leave a Reply

