The art of sitting

There is no hope for me, I rather sit and think of nothing much
than go outside to watch a full moon hang over a cobalt sea,
than go to places where to find a mate and romance of the flesh,
than find a cause more noble or more fun. I need no fun, I sit.
The music can’t lure me away from my feeling of contentment.

The cool of silent evenings gives me more than my need of applause.
There is no hope that I shall live the fullest life, for I am me.
The empty spaces in my thoughts are there to fill the thoughtless gaps.
Though much resentment comes from others as I sit, I have to sit.
This is it. To sit and think of nothing much. Just of life perhaps.

Comments on: "The art of sitting" (21)

  1. I enjoyed this Ina

    its a good place to be, feeling content and not needing anything much. There is an art to sitting I think, we always seem to think we must be busy.

    But I now have mixed felings about it as I am forced to sit when I dont want to. I am learning the art all over again. Making the best of sitting is what I now have to do and I am often anything but content πŸ™‚ Whining over! Lol πŸ™‚ L &H xx

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, to tell you the truth I sort of wrote this out of frustration because I wanted to go for a walk and I couldn’t, knee giving trouble. lol I suppose sitting is ok when you are tired, but when you want to be active, it really sucks! πŸ™‚ L&H xx

  2. This is great πŸ™‚

  3. One doesn’t have to DO anything. πŸ™‚

    • πŸ™‚ Not all the time anyway!

      • A neighbor of mine locked herself out of her apartment on a pretty day. She and I sat and waited for her roommate with the extra key in the backyard and discussed the “art of sitting” and doing nothing. It wasn’t easy for her to have to stop short on her plans for the day and her life to wait. You’re right, it’s not easy and is a little bit off-putting to stand still that way.

  4. Absolutely! “It sucks” just a out sus ir up! πŸ™‚ L&H xx

  5. Oh goodness! Look at that comment! “about sums it up” xx

  6. You are a person rich in thoughts and insights. Almost despite yourself these spill out through your verse. You are a truly aware person, and thus to read you is one of my great pleasures

  7. There’s a quotation some people attribute to Winnie the Pooh and others to the American baseball player Satchel Paige which goes like this: “Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits”………

  8. Love the transition from the initial poetic perception of the romance of sitting to the realization that the muse is a malfunctioning knee – you are so Zen sometimes Ina…

  9. I am very much in favour of just sitting.
    I need to be able to quieten my head to do that and some days I can!!
    My balcony calls this morning – it is cool out there at this time of the day πŸ™‚

    Look after yourself

    Much love
    David xxx

    • Hi David

      balconies seem to be made for the right way of sitting πŸ™‚ A quiet head must be a happy head? πŸ™‚

      I hope you enjoyed the cool there today! It was really warm hdere, I had to go inside even, out of the sun!

      You look after yourself too.

      Much love
      xxx

  10. I really love this poem, Ina – it describes me in many ways … I really have to push myself to be active, especially in terms of going out of my cocoon of ‘home and hearth’. My imagination loves the safety of its motionless wanderings, I guess. But of course this poem is not about resignation or even being comfortable … the longing is in the vivid descriptions of what is ‘out there’ – you make what isn’t being missed very seductive indeed! XO β™₯

    • Hi Diane thank you very much!
      Being active is not always easy.
      Maybe we should accept that we need slow times as well! β™₯ xx

Leave a Reply

