Joking?

No I don’t grasp your wit today, I’m numb;
a cotton cloud is keeping me away,
I live in a tunnel so it seems now.

The hours move without much speed to night.
In here is just a candle flame and me,
a moth is trying to get in but why.

How can a creature seem to be so dumb?
I listen, I don’t know the words you say.
The phone is dead. Outside I hear an owl.

The moth gave up. I dark the candle’s light.
Through open windows comes the moist of sea.
I did not grasp your wit today: “Goodbye” ?

Comments on: "Joking?" (8)

  1. Just the key line is so direct an unambiguous that it is hard to read any other words, You are normally so delicate and oblique that the line shocks the reader and ,him sit up

    • Hi Peter,
      I am not sure it is a good thing to shock the reader, but I like the idea I can do that 🙂

  2. This has actually happened to me. 🙂

  3. Yes it’s a good idea to shock the reader (depending only on what you mean by ‘shock’). This poem is outstanding in the way it uses language to stunt superficial meaning, but simultaneously to load the words with significance. One of your best.

  4. Excellent, Ina … just love the scene here. Sometimes what is shocking is just what is inevitable. Can tell your mobility has been affected by your recent health issues … wonderful how you translate it into poetry … nothing can stop you! 🙂 XO

Leave a Reply

