The stone

There are no stones, no rocks in this landscape,
just sand and what grows on sand. Water. Mud.
Once abroad, I feel the power of rocks,
cliffs, ancient ground to belong. I take a stone.

I take it home with me. Questions arise.
Why take a stone to travel home with you.
How to call a stone, a pebble, a rock
that doesn’t belong and is indifferent.

The sand is softer, bends more, shapes and blows
while the stone is constant in existence.
I took a stone away from foreign shore,
now it is resting on the window-sill.

The stone has moved into a landscape where
only sand rules. But it feels right at home.
There is a grey stone now in this flat land.
Forever the same. Never blown away.

I found a reason on a foreign beach.
Sometimes we need to go away to find
what’s left behind, what matters in a shell,
in seaweed, a grey feather, in a stone.

Comments on: "The stone" (10)

  1. Nice one! πŸ™‚

  2. Wow! Beautiful πŸ™‚ Amazing imagery! Enjoyed πŸ™‚

  3. This is wonderful.

    I think it is now my favourite poem of yours.
    I love the poem itself and the sentiments it expresses.

    I am quite sure the stone is very happy there.
    And for you it is a constant reminder of something special perhaps.

    I have brought home with me stones from Whitby for exactly that purpose πŸ™‚

    Arohanui πŸ™‚
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David,

      thank you very much! The stone is from Whitby too actually πŸ™‚
      There were such nice round pebbles, or what should one call them there, shaped by the sea I imagine. πŸ™‚

      Thank you for the translation suggestion btw, ( meaning I always thought the English word for “vensterbank” was windowpane ) that was very helpful, I have altered it! πŸ™‚

      Arohanui πŸ™‚

      xxx

  4. This is fabulous Ina, and I love the last verse, the way it brings everything together. πŸ™‚

    L&h xx

  5. Perhaps we should be like the displaced stone … make ourselves at home wherever we find ourselves … life does steal us like that, I think, from place to place (even when we don’t move geographically). Excellent poem! XO

    • Hi Diane, thank you very much! Some places are home right from the start… πŸ™‚ XX

Leave a Reply

