Blue for ever

The sky over the trees says nothing in this blue,
no angels swim there, only birds but they are silent,
I might have hoped for something biblical to show
but there is only blue eternity and flocks of geese.
How can we think that gods live there? Why would they?

Maybe hell is blue; I can’t see heaven in this pool of nothing
where clouds go when they float out of our sight,
dissolving, and stop existing over our heads.
They die and do so just like that. They are the big bang in fast forward.
Even though a tree lives longer than a cloud, the gods moved up into thin air.

I have seen faces, ships and castles fade this way.
I can not understand the reason for this empty sky then.
Where does it start, how far is always and how far away from me
should I be looking for a god. For a reason to think twice.
Where have they gone to? Out of the blue our myths began.

An angel comes to tell a virgin she’ll be mother of God’s son,
and where is Zeus hiding in the mean time? The sky is always blue
behind the clouds. We have no business asking for a sign I’m told.
A goose falls dead in front of me. Out of nowhere, from above.
His feathers move in hauling wind, although the life is gone.

Comments on: "Blue for ever" (12)

  1. The emotion is maintained through out , nice!
    If possible please check my ‘Resilience’, thanks

  2. Methinks the gods departed for purer pastures around the time we began to belch into the sky. Occasionally though, I still see faces through the trees, blue eyes on blue even without clouds…

    • Hi John, that must be the reason the sky is so empty now. They were there, but left… We should not have belched perhaps πŸ™‚

  3. You have gone deep here Ina! A fab poem as ever. I don’t know how you do it. Theres searching in these wonderful words.

    A very “old timer” as we call AA members who have been around a long time, always used to say, “Dont go looking for God, he/she isnt lost” . That was the first time I grasped a possible concept that “God” for want of a better word is right here inside me. But I still question it all. The difficult thing is getting rid of the childhood conditioning of God on a cloud! I wonder where he sits when the sky is all blue and he hasn’t got a cloud cushion! – Now Im being frivolous! Too much time on my hands. πŸ™‚

    This is an excellent poem!

    L&H xx

  4. Hi Christine, thank you

    I really doubt we humans have gods inside of us somewhere next to the pancreas and the liver, but it is a nice thought πŸ™‚ My mother said: if there is a god that allowed the holocaust, I want no part in religion. I just don’t care really. If there is such thing as a god, not the one we made up, fine with me. πŸ™‚ though I think humans in all variaties are enough to deal with lol πŸ™‚

    L&H xx

  5. Yes, humans are enough to deal with! I am one of them! Lol xx

  6. This is one terrific poem.
    I love the way something as simple as a blue sky can prompt such profound thoughts.

    Take good care of yourself and watch out for falling geese!! πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

  7. Powerful, Ina. Excellent images … and much to think about. XO

Leave a Reply

