Away (a memory)

23juni13 004

I was away from love so long
but somehow love caught up with me,
a walk nearby a foaming sea,
a kiss that means we can’t go wrong.

For now I’ll have to wait and see,
you go away, so much is sure,
who knows what future there will be
and all we know is to endure.

The harbour’s filled with ships to leave,
a ship’s dog anxious on the deck.
As soon they’ll sail, I shall not grieve,
I know one day they’ll all be back.

And one of those ships will be yours,
the wind will bring you home once more,
a seagull guiding you the course,
love to be harboured as before.

Comments on: "Away (a memory)" (9)

  1. This is the 1000th posting on this blog 🙂

  2. And a lovely poem to celebrate it too!

    Wow! 1000 posts. I cant get my head round that number!! Lol

    Congrats!

    L&H xx

  3. 1000 lovely postings. You Blog is one of the treasures of my Blogosphere. I also love boats so the picture is a treat as well

    • Hi Peter, thank you very much! 🙂
      I made that photo here in the harbour of Terschelling.

  4. If a picture is worth a thousand words your words have given a thousand pictures – a kilo of kudos to you Ina, poet and muse of the everyday…

  5. Congratulations, Ina, on 1000 posts! Like Christine, I can’t imagine. One a week is a struggle for me. This is a beautiful poignant poem to mark the occasion, one that reaches out to many hearts and experiences, I think. XO ♥

Leave a Reply

