You too

I tried to alter how I felt
make a new plan for coming days
but every new design proved wrong:
I can not change the way clouds move,
how season’s flow, the rain that falls,
I am with you in mind and soul.

I went away for a short while
to see the light in different lands,
but everywhere it was the same,
some things can’t change by traveling.
I’ll travel light in future times,
I only need to bring your name.

And now you told me that you too
are so in love. Now let clouds flow,
let seasons change, whatever falls,
our minds and souls can stand the rain,
we travel only to come home,
and home is always where you are.

Comments on: "You too" (14)

  1. Ina so far this is my favorite. Very romantic.

  2. This is lovely Ina.

    Some words in the second verse reminded me of my early recovery days in Alcoholics Anonymous. There was much talk, when people were telling their stories about trying to move to different areas or even different lands as you say here. We always thought if we moved then things would automatically get better!! We used to call these moves “geographicals” ! Of course we took ourselves with us and nothing changed until we did!

    Sorry to digress from the poem, but that thought came to me. The poem is lovely. You always find such an originl ending! 🙂

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you 🙂

      I do believe a change of scenery can do a lot of good but I suppose not everything can be solved by moving or going on holiday. I often feel changed after a trip abroad, new horizons are good for the mind I think! 🙂

      Love and hugs xx

  3. Yes I know what tou mean. There is a saying, have you heard it? “A change is as good as a rest” . i think the alcololic geographicals were done in the hope that drinking would stop if they went somewhere else! 🙂 L&H xx

    • The idea must have been to replace a bad habit with a good addiction like travel? 🙂 L&H xx

  4. I can not change the way clouds move,
    how season’s flow, the rain that falls,

    Never did like this part of life. Want to fix the imperfections that God made in this world.

    • Ah, but we can’t fix that, just have to accept 🙂 And maybe they are not imperfections, but is our outlook on it imperfect? lol I need coffee…

  5. “We travel only to come home”. That’s a nice thought for me

  6. A truly beautiful love poem.

    Made me feel warm

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David,

      thank you very much 🙂 that makes me feel warm ! We need warm in this cold Summer!

      Arohanui
      xxx

  7. ‘went away for a short while
    to see the light in different lands,
    but everywhere it was the same’

    Love that … and yet I think everyone should travel just to realize how connected and ‘ordinary’ we all are.

    I know that now, I certainly only ‘travel to come home’ … sometimes literally, more often imaginatively. XO

Leave a Reply

