Summer morning

Pale the day has started out, in watercolours
wearing see-through thoughts that please.
I can see you here, your smile, more so:
your laugh. The fire of the sun just touch and go,
transparency, the kinder side of day.

Then clouds move over and the sky is hard and blue,
a plastic lid that covers what is true,
a tender whisper can’t make it here for long,
any subtle gesture wasted on too much of it all,
on the false brightness of Summer.

Suddenly all changes again, now rain is falling hard.
Where does this leave us? Give me a clue
before the plot thickens as mist erasing you,
before the paleness of the morning is forgotten,
when all was clear to me and real.

Comments on: "Summer morning" (8)

  1. This is lovely. I admit I am a fan of a bit of random rhyme. Superb metaphors with a gentle touch of light cadence to the piece.

    • Hi Wendy,
      thank you very much. The first rhyme here was a coicidence, so I thought to do it a bit more πŸ™‚

  2. This is a terrific poem which persuaded me to read it time and time again and still left me pondering!!

    NB I seem to be a bit behind on your poems – sorry – finding it difficult to keep up.

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David,
      thank you very much πŸ™‚ I am always delighted to know you actually read the stuff I write lol. I can imagine you can’t keep up, I was publishing a lot lately. It is hard to keep them “quiet”!

      Arohanui πŸ™‚
      xxx

  3. I love the weather metaphor wound around emotions, wonderful! As ever!

    L&H xx

  4. Random rhyme is like finding an intact shell on a beach.

Leave a Reply

