Small proof

I don’t want so much from life
now I know a little of the taste of fruits,
somewhat of the love that’s friendship,
much of my own imperfection,
and most about what life has not in store for me.

I ask for small proof that I matter,
yet even little things are not for me,
I don’t know why. The fruit tastes bitter.

Comments on: "Small proof" (10)

  1. Happiness is not always easy to find

  2. It’s an acquired taste, but more powerful and satisfying than too much sweetness.

  3. Fruit: almost a race memory
    every bite’s bitterness asks
    – Was it me in Eden?

  4. That’s why they make monuments from stone…tho incapable of creation itself, it lasts longer than flesh…

  5. There is a resignation but also a sense of contentment (or at least wanting to be conten). It is a kind of argument between the two … something that life seems to set up more and more as one gets older. This is a very very good poem, Ina. The first verse is excellent, especially:
    ‘much of my own imperfection,
    and most about what life has not in store for me’
    XO

  6. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, Diane! xx

Leave a Reply

