Flash. Thunder.

We don’t cross each others path by accident,
we carefully planned it, road map, train tickets,
and then there is you. It has been a while.
We try out small talk.
No, this is not what we thought we would find.
Those years have split us up, changed the chemistry.
There is lightning over the horizon though.
We should take shelter, but we stand
and rain is pouring.
If we are struck now, we die together,
it would mean something, one grand moment.
You put your arm on my shoulder.
It has been great, you say. I say it has not.
Why do you always argue, you say. Flash. Thunder.
When I open my eyes again, you are gone.
I like that ending.

Comments on: "Flash. Thunder." (18)

  1. As it ought to be it. Why make something out of something that was but isn’t?

  2. This is great! Reality? Hoped for Reality? Dream? Stuff-in-Head? The remains of Stuff-in-Head? etc. etc . . . pinned against lightning, thunder and rain. I think, pretty much, the way most of us go about picking our way through this life and everything it puts in front of us. Simply said: bang on!

    • Hi Wendy, thank you very much πŸ™‚ When the weather says drama, you don’t need much more πŸ™‚

  3. Brilliant.

    I like that ending too πŸ™‚

    Much Love
    David
    xxx

  4. So true. Thunder and poetry and poetry that thunders. It’s a great combination. Smiles.

  5. You made me smile with this one Ina! L &H xx!

  6. You have a great gift for indicating a story and background with a few words. I love that. This leaves the reader with lots of exploring to do. It’s a treat. This was excellent. I’ll stop writing now but I really enjoyed it.

  7. Good one! πŸ™‚

  8. So raw, so real, so true … to yourself! XO

Leave a Reply

