Alone now

Not much has changed since I was here with you,
the beach has stayed a scene of blowing sand,
under my hand the shells are fragile rocks.
I feel the earth invade my skin and eyes,
one with water, sand and air I shall live on.
and even if I die now, I โ€˜ll be part of
all that starts as sky, dividing sea
from land. The shells are fragile rocks, how
slow the waving water takes me over.
But you are gone now, I am all alone.

Comments on: "Alone now" (10)

  1. Hi Ina,

    i love this! Another of your wonderful melancholy poems suroundingthe sea.

    This poem made me want to be walking along the beach inhaling that special sense that can only be experienced around the sea.

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine,
      thank you very much, yes the sea makes everything a bit more heavy I think, the feel that all matters in that one moment. (I hope I make sense lol)

      We are having some internet problems – as in no internet – due to something technical with the connection- so I am using a dongle (?) now, but I have to share lol, not sure how long it will be like this, They might have to dig up the street ๐Ÿ™‚

      L&H xx

  2. Beautifully melancholic. You always create so much atmosphere with your words

  3. t h i n g s + f l e s h said:

    lucid and vulnerable. your gentle poetic voice always touches me. tony

  4. I can always count on a worthwhile reading experience, coming here ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. “…We have lingered in the chambers of the sea
    By sea-girls wreathed with seaweed red and brown
    Till human voices wake us, and we drown.”
    T.S.Eliot
    Always drowning in your voice Ina…

Leave a Reply

