The read

Living in your sentences for a while
I felt safe, under the roof of your lines,
in cupboards with beautiful cutlery
and china, I found what I was missing.
Every metaphor a new adventure,
I slept on your sofa, held in your arms,
dreamt your chapters, my comforting blankets.
I was part of you and your mind was home.
And now I finished the book, so I have
to move on, feeling homesick already.

Comments on: "The read" (14)

  1. Normally I baulk at poems with the actual word ‘metaphor’ in them, but this one is good. πŸ™‚

  2. I love the metaphor in this too!
    L&h xx

  3. Yes!!!!

    It takes a book to do that. A kindle would never do! πŸ™‚

    David
    xxx

    • πŸ™‚ The feel of paper, the smell of ink, the pages turned over by the wind,,, And if you drop a book, it won’t break!

      xxx

  4. I always avoid the last page until I no longer can…

  5. You wrote perfectly how I feel when I’ve finished a book, Ina, and I love your use of metaphors! Wonderful!

  6. perfectly captured, Ina.
    groetjes, Francina πŸ™‚

  7. Love this, Ina! XO

Leave a Reply

