Update

On May 18th there will be a poetry event here on the island of Terschelling, called “Dichter bij zee” and I was asked to read some of my poems there, the theme was “freedom” linked with Terschelling. Six poems of mine were chosen, one of them in English (“Frame rate 25”). The first poem I am supposed to read there is in Dutch:

Vrijen op een drooggevallen schip

Jouw lange benen duwen die van mij uiteen,
zo drooggevallen bij de vloedlijn wil ik slapen
met jou en alleen water om me heen,
het zeewier onze deken,
de zee klotst ons in slaap
en wolken drijven met een glimlach over
tot ze verdwijnen waar de zee hen drinkt.
Jouw lichaam dat in mijn lijf zinkt,
wij maken liefde en de zee maakt mee.

Now this one proved difficult to translate. Translating poetry can only be an attempt I suppose. (Or you have to be a really good translator!)

Making love on a ship that stands clear of the water

Your long legs are pushing mine apart;
like this, near the flood line, I just want to sleep
with you and only water to surround me,
sea weed our blanket,
the sea rocking us to sleep
and cloudsΒ  drifting over with a smile
til they disappear where the sea drinks them.
Your body sinking into mine,
we make love and the sea is a part .

Meanwhile I am looking forward to the release in August of my second anthology of English poems, “Amor” by Winter Goose Publishing. I am also trying to write a novel in English and with writing for my Dutch publisher, my daily 2 hour walk plus baby sitting my granddaughter, maybe I shall not be around on Internet as frequent as I would like to, but days will get slower later on! I shall try to read as many blogs as possible.Β  I wish every one a very good SummerΒ  πŸ™‚

Comments on: "Update" (12)

  1. Terrific! Thanks for the update.

  2. I am really proud of what you have and are achieving Ina.

    Would that I could be there on the 18th but it is just not possible.
    But I will be there in spirit.

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David,

      thank you very much πŸ™‚ A lot of it has to do with your encouragement throughout the years.
      It would have been great if you had been able to come for the occassion πŸ™‚ but I fully understand of course. Maybe you can make the trip on a later date, you are welcome to stay.
      In the meantime take good care of yourself!

      Arohanui
      xxx

  3. You are achieving so much, and it is so well deserved. Really pleased for you

  4. you are a machine

  5. Wow Ina you are going to be very busy!

    And what wonderful achievements! You are a very talented writer and an English novel will be a treat indeed to look forward to!

    Thank you too, for your continuing support for my poetry; it means a lot to me. I really look forward to your new anthology.

    Dont forget to keep smelling the flowers on your walks too!! Time out is important πŸ™‚

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine,

      yes it is a bit busy at the moment πŸ™‚ but all of it is nice to do. Thank you so very much for all those many lovely comments! Your poetry is wonderful in its wit and acceptance of life as it is. I am going to read many more of your poems I hope!

      I shall smell the flowers! πŸ™‚

      L&H xx

  6. Congratulations on all your achievements, Ina … wish I could be at the reading! And lots to look forward to from your wonderful talent and spirit. And as Christine reminded (me as well as you) take time for time out, too! XO β™₯

    • Hi Diane,

      thank you very much πŸ™‚ It would have been great if you could be there!

      I am outdoors a lot these days. The other day I stood eye to eye with a deer πŸ™‚ β™₯

Leave a Reply

