The vase

Flowers in vases die faster.
For days we watched
the roses fade and bend
and crumble out of life.
One rose fell on the table.
A bee inside her petals
refused to give her up
until he too was dead.

Today I broke the vase.
A thousand pieces flew
around and for a moment
the roses’ scent was there,
the humming of the bee,
those shades of red and black.
The moment you gave flowers
came back and forth to me.

Comments on: "The vase" (9)

  1. A thought-provoking image.

  2. Thank you Marie πŸ™‚

  3. Vase breaks – heart breaks…

  4. I can see these moments as well. Flowers fading. I miss your poetry, sorry I have not had the chance to tune it. Will catch up. Check out my most recent videos in my “experiment” series, I think you might like the new work.

  5. Hi Walter, thank you very much. πŸ™‚ I have been a bit busy too, but I shall pop over to your blog now πŸ™‚

  6. A wonderful, though original, love poem, hinting of disaster in a relationship, but also hinting about how humans take nature and try to capture it and then watch, sometime sadly, it fade.

Leave a Reply

