Yet

Worn out lies the street before me,
the empty eyes of the houses
stare sadly over my head.

This is the town where the future has ended,
now trees are too dry to have leaves.

A piece of bright coloured plastic
is flowering one of the dead branches.

The wind won’t even howl here,
shadows won’t stick,
there is only the silence of crows.

Yet
I see a butterfly dance
as if nothing happened.

Comments on: "Yet" (8)

  1. Oh I love this Ina. It conjures up a few things in my mind, one being a war torn street where the butterfly sur ives unaware. If there was an aconpanying picture, I can visualise a photo in black and white with just one aspect of colour, a butterfly.

    I want to learn how to do that, take a black and white photo with just one piece of olour in it. ive been reading how to do it.

    Now youve got me thinking!

    L&H xx
    ,

    • Hi Christine, and the bright coloured piece of plastic 🙂 I once wrote a story in which the colour red appeared a lot, the rest was a lot of grey. It got published in a magazine, maybe I shall translate it, if I can find it back. I wish I was more organized! Thank you very much! L&H xx 🙂

  2. Beautiful! You might as well have plastered a huge brightly colored butterfly all over the page.

  3. Made me think of a disaster like Chernobyl. Or how ‘man’kind can damage the earth. It is a very intense poem. All of it well done, but these lines especially powerful:

    ‘The wind won’t even howl here,
    shadows won’t stick,
    there is only the silence of crows.’

    XO

    • Hi Diane, thank you very much! 🙂 I wrote it because Spring is so late this year and everything seems dead, indeed as if some disaster happened! xx

  4. Wonderful poem, full of atmosphere.

    Do you know I don’t think I have seen a butterfly yet this year.
    But I do have a plastic bag flowering in the tree outside my window!!

    Love
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David, thank you very much. I saw a yellow butterfly yesterday, but it wouldn’t sit for the photo 🙂 And a blue one and some orange, butterfly season has begun! Of course the plastic is bright also lol 🙂 Urban surrogate for nature perhaps.

      Love
      xxx

Leave a Reply

