Almost forgot

In this, the season for nightmares
and spiders, various shapes of horror show,
strong blown up ghosts that haunt in wee hours
and long moulded memories growing new fungi.
But the nights are short now, so
I rise early to beat them to it.

Eagerly I go downstairs to see
the sun rise if I am lucky, and forget
what I just saw in the figments
that linger in darkness.
Over coffee I am almost back
to the real world where all is well,
opened are the curtains. I am set.

One spider that escaped the dream,
came with me from the bedroom floor
to keep my feet some company,
it looks as if in need of shelter, or
still shocked from its own nightmare
that might have been about the likes of me.

Daylight creeps over the floor boards.
We wait and there she is, the sun.
The spider and me both enjoy, aha!
the warmth, the light. We bond a bit,
we nearly hug, but then I shriek it far away.
Almost forgot: I am afraid of spiders! Duh!

Comments on: "Almost forgot" (12)

  1. Love the last verse. Loving the same thing is a great way to bring people or species together, or can be.

  2. Big smile on my face after reading this Ina! Its great.

    Love the idea of the spider escaping the dream. Though by the sound of it, he/she was real enough!

    Not sure who would have been more shocked by the hug, you or the spider!! You know how there seem to be days for everything now; maybe there should be “hug a spider” day!! Lol

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you very much for the smile šŸ™‚ I try not to be afraid of those big black spiders, but they always give me the shivers. Compared to tropical spiders they must be tiny, but still… Oh well šŸ™‚ I am not in favour of a spider hug day lol! A Lady bug hug day perhaps? L&H xx

  3. That’s fun, Ina! I particularly enjoyed the thought that the spider itself might have been shaking off nightmares – and perhaps of you!

    • Hi John, a spider must think we are enormous, if a spider thinks at all šŸ™‚ With a brain the size of a writing dot, maybe there is no room for nightmares šŸ™‚

  4. Well, that you almost forgot you ‘hated’ spiders says something for such phobias, I think. (“He” was probably saying: “Shucks, I almost had her fooled!”) I so love this poem, especially the first line and all of this verse:

    ‘One spider that escaped the dream,
    came with me from the bedroom floor
    to keep my feet some company,
    it looks as if in need of shelter, or
    still shocked from its own nightmare
    that might have been about the likes of me.’

    XO ā™„

    • Hi Diane, thank yu very much well sometimes I think it is a phobia, but sometimes I think it is very normal to be scared of a creature with so many legs, a creature that can bite (my father got bitten once by a spider, no one believed him, but since then I am scaaared lol)

      ā™„

  5. Black spiders of the night often haunt the sunlight too. How are we to love eight legs with two?

Leave a Reply

