Pretend we are together

We have been taught to read with caution
as letters need to mean the same each time they show.
But the creative child that makes up a new meaning
sees more in each word than a word as is.
He found the magic of the mind that let the logic go.

I read in your eyes more than they do tell me,
and I know it, and still I am content.
Let’s be creative and wonder through those landscapes
never to be ours, but always in our thoughts,
forbidden places where we never went.

We walk a none existing road and sleep in beds together
where we have never slept, feel the linen touch our skin.
Smell the sea and tar from at the harbour’s.
We can pretend we share a moment in a different town,
we can pretend we are creative, and that I have let you in.

Comments on: "Pretend we are together" (10)

  1. I love your poems, and to be honest I say that about a lot less poets than you think, but you use the tension between words and expectations to produce an effect so cleverly, and craftingly that I am always filled with delight by them.

  2. I like this one a lot.

  3. What a truely imaginative love poem.

    Terrific!!

    David
    xxx

  4. ghostwriter3104 said:

    I love your work… So beautiful and thought provoking… πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing!

  5. ‘But the creative child that makes up a new meaning
    sees more in each word than a word as is.
    He found the magic of the mind that let the logic go.’

    We should always remember – even, be – that child! Lovely again, Ina. XO β™₯

Leave a Reply

