Airing the orphanage

You had gone, leaving stuff:
a sock, two cotton handkerchiefs,
a cd with a cracked cover,
a giant coffee mug and me.
Dust was collecting on all of us.
Numb we stared at each other.
Waiting. One day you would need your mug.

Now it is Spring. I opened the window
and fresh air is entering the orphanage.
I caress the crack on the cd cover,
and throw it away with the sock and the handkerchiefs.
I keep the mug. And myself,
if you don’t mind. To remember you
and whom you never were.

Comments on: "Airing the orphanage" (8)

  1. This is a fabulous poem Ina

    You captured such atmosphere. I ove the lines “dust was collecting on all of us” and “I keep the mug, and myself, if you don t mind”. they are wonderful. And how you see yourself as one of the items left behind. Terrific!

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine,
      thank you very much πŸ™‚ it is one of those poems that are rooted in long ago events, Somehow (almost) Spring made me think back of those days πŸ™‚

      Love and Hugs! xx

  2. Dust, time, and objects, all as a partial chronicle of a relationship in need of editing.

  3. Oh, I love this poem.

    The last three lines are superb.

    Much Love
    David
    xxx

  4. You always blow me away with your words – such an inspiration you are Ina…

Leave a Reply

