Where truth lies

We shelter each other from the world, you
and me and this cat that closes his eyes
if you and I love, but keeps purring, nights.

Your hands warm my skin when they both hold my
face in them, your lips know my neck and thighs.
When we sleep, I feel the cat stretch himself.

We only need this bed, but we must leave
to go back to this world of our white lies,
the truth known to a cat with both eyes closed.

Comments on: "Where truth lies" (8)

  1. Always enigmatic. Always delightful and nourishing. Love the second to last line.

  2. What a wonderful poem.
    One which leaves me pondering but speaks clearly of love and life

    One of your very best methinks

    David
    xxx

    • Thank you very much πŸ™‚ I am glad you like it. Those cats seem to know more than we thnk πŸ™‚

      xxx

  3. Good one! πŸ™‚

  4. How those cats just purr and sleep and stretch around our lives, and keep our secrets … and their own. Love this! XO

Leave a Reply

