The mastodon in the room

This loving you is not about me now,
when I don’t see your eyes nor feel your ways,
it’s present in your absence where somehow
it turns up as a mastodon who stays.

I see its eyes at night, before I fall asleep,
it groans so friendly while others ignore
the fact it’s in the room, a love so deep
perhaps can not be dealt with anymore.

The hunters that are luring just outside
and want to kill my mastodon of love,
they have no chance, it knows in time to hide
from them. The love and I find this enough.

The last of species may this creature be,
but it lives here. It is the love of me.

😉
This week I signed a contract for my second poetry book in English titled “Amor”, that will be released in August by Winter Goose Publishing, they also published “Vertias” last year. I am looking forward to that. Have a nice Sunday 🙂

Comments on: "The mastodon in the room" (15)

  1. Hi Ina.

    This is a really unusual poem. I had to look up mastodon before I could understand it! Ive never heard of it before! Now I understand! Your poems about love ooze from within you so naturally.

    Congratulations on the up and coming “Amor”, that is great news! Are we talking about the same person here, the one who cant write very good English poems??!! 😊

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine,

      in Dutch it is mastodont, with a t. Like an elephant in the room 🙂 Thank you very much, I am looking forward to the release of the book.

      Ah, my English… I think I still have much to learn really. English is the greatest language. 🙂

      L&H xx

  2. David Eric Cummins said:

    Great news! Congratulations, Ina! 🙂

  3. Good luck with your book.

  4. I’ll see your mastodon and raise you a woolly mammoth.

    Congratulations on the book deal. 🙂

  5. Terrific news Ina,

    Your poetry well merits publication.

    I hope you get the cover picture for the book that you want 🙂

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David,
      thank you, the example I showed you would be nice! I think definitely red anyway. No fatty cherubs 🙂
      Arohanui xxx

  6. Elephants, mastodons in our rooms – bulls in china shops – why can’t they all just stay in the wilderness and leave us alone?…

  7. Excellent news … and as it should be, Ina. Congratulations! Look forward to another collection of your vibrant, intelligent and unique poems. XO

    • 🙂 Thank you very much! It is very rewarding to see a book with your own work, as you know! Looking forward to your (2!) new books too! xx

Leave a Reply

