The feelings of flowers

Flowers have no feelings I assumed,
indifferent as they go with everything,
a funeral, a wedding, Valentine.
They stand on graves as numb as those of plastic.

Some colours make the eye wonder
what nature can think of next.
No flowers ever objected to being painted
in absurd stripes or polka dots.

Yet I saw Snowdrops shiver under snow
and daffodils mourn over their reflection.
When a rose loses her petals one by one, her pain
leaves a memory in the sweet-scented air.

Comments on: "The feelings of flowers" (14)

  1. I believe flowers are alive. They supply fresh air and beauty for us. They feed the bees and create food. In some places. People thank the plants for the food they give to us. I like your thoughts and the question you left to ponder. A excellent poem.

    • Hi John, flowers are wonderful, the stuff they are made of, and the way they grow, their colours, scent, everything about them 🙂 Thank you.

  2. Lovely poem Ina.

    I always think flowers and plants can “feel”. Some people think this is a silly thing to think, but I think it anyway.

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, maybe flowers have more of a soul than we know, I think they react on music and such, so who knows 🙂 I don’t think it is silly!

      L&H xx

  3. You are definitely back on form Ina.

    This poem is lovely.

    I have commented on some of the others on FB.

    Good to have you posting regularly again

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David,

      thank you very much, also for the comments on fb. They mean a lot to me!
      I am not too sure if I should publish on both, fb and here 🙂 I am very much behind reading on either thing! I just try and see what turns out for the best.

      Arohanui 🙂

      xxx

  4. I’m inclined to think all living things can feel pain if nothing else…maybe sorrow too…

  5. Such a lovely poem! This was a great read.
    I don’t think our hearts change.
    Childhood? Adulthood?
    Flowers are alive.

  6. Flowers feel pain when we pick them – we feel pain when we are picked and then discarded as dead – this I know…

  7. This is wonderful … with such a stark cynicism leading to that extraordinary, beautiful, lyrical last verse that reached into my heart. XO

Leave a Reply

