Your lovely hands

Your lovely hands are falling in your lap,
another day has passed away
that takes you closer to your final nap.

Heavily the night is hanging on the houses
but your lovely hands are still so light,
they arise, birds from your apron,
their shadows playing
with the last beams of the candle.

Comments on: "Your lovely hands" (20)

  1. You’re back! Yippee!! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

    This is a fabulous poem Ina, I love it.

    Love and hugs

    Christine xx

    • Hi Christine, yesterday I decided to post ” Button ” , I just like this internet thing lol.
      Thank you for liking! Love and hugs to you! ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

  2. Good to see you back.

    I wonder if ‘took’ should be ‘take’ as the second verse is written in the present tense.

    Just a thought.

    It is a good poem

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David
      I am sure you are right, ( I can not hear it, strangely enough it sounds okay to me , one of the reasons of my recent leave of absence is that I realise I really have to do something about my grammar) , I shall change ” took ” into “takes” Thank you very much!
      Arohanui
      xxx

  3. The image ” birds from your apron” is amazingly vivid. I am so glad you are back. You are much better than you know, and the odd grammatical error is nothing compared to your sensibility, and the quality of images like the one I’ve just quoted

    • Thank you very much! That is really very kind of you to say. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hate grammar errors and I hate it even more if I am guilty of them! But it is good to learn more every day.

  4. I like the internet thing too, we are part of a lovely community to which you belong. It didnt feel right without you ๐Ÿ˜Š

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you. It is so nice to read and comment and to have something yourself that people can read and comment on ๐Ÿ™‚ I suppose blogging is really my thing lol.

      L&H xx

  5. That was very enjoyable with my morning coffee.

  6. You can often take the measure of a man by his hands.

  7. ‘Took’ would have been okay – there is nothing wrong with surprising people with grammar. There is precedence: ‘Before Abraham was I AM’ (John 8:58). ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Marie, if it is ok for the bible, I suppose it is ok for my blog ๐Ÿ™‚ I shall look it up to see what the Dutch translation is.

  8. Ina wonderful to have you back again and way to start with your lovely poem! I also have a gift for you, I have nominated you for the Most Influential Blog Award 2012. You are deserving of it as your words greatly influenced many of us last year and now in this new year. Welcome back and congratulations, I posted the announcement at my blog https://foreverpoetic.me. God bless you always!

    • Thank you Wendell ๐Ÿ™‚ That is very kind of you! I am a bit behind in replying on awards, I hope to get there!

  9. Oh, lovely and this line: ‘they arise, birds from your apron …’ is wonderful! XO

  10. Missed you – a glorious and sensitive re-entry – welcome back Ina…

Leave a Reply

