two poems about the horizon

9nov12 005
Horizon birds

Always there is the horizon. And never it is making sense
It is no line, but just an abrupt ending,
a fence between the world we know and all that lies beyond.
Yet I see a line. My mind wants logic in this too grand overkill of space.

I want boundaries for my world. I need a lined out place.
Some birds escape there, flying out of what can be imagined
into another world. I envy them today. For ever gone
and out of sight, while I am standing, in reality, now lost to them.

Einder

De einder is het einde niet,
het is verschiet dat niet verdwijnt.
Ik zie een vogel vliegen
voorbij de horizon. In één tel
uit mijn werkelijkheid gevlogen,
kan ik niet geloven dat hij terug zal keren.
De ene vogel is de ander niet.
Misschien dus deze wel.
De tijd die zal het leren.

Today 2 poems, both about the horizon, birds, reality (the one in Dutch. Einder, which means horizon, is not the translation of the English one.)

Comments on: "two poems about the horizon" (13)

  1. I know what you mean about the horizon!

    Can only comment on one though! Sorry!

    You’re not supposed to be doing this!! Lol

    L&H xx

  2. 😊 😊xx

  3. A poem to make me think.

    I once wrote a poem about horizon – in my first book I think. If I can find it I will post it on here

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Horizons seem to be there, but in fact they are not. It is just a line we make up!

      I hope you will find the poem and post πŸ™‚ Thank you for your comment!

      Arohanui πŸ™‚
      xxx

  4. The distant and imagined line that creates borders not really there – why do we need them?

  5. Wanting definition, to make sense, to know what is beyond, That is the need of a human being. But to allow for the unknown and see without seeing is for the spiritual being. Of course, we can be both. Very lovely, Ina. β™₯

Leave a Reply

