Fading lunatics

Now I can’t hope against all odds,
as all has been. We just go on now.
Me in my life, and so do you in yours.
I don’t know why, but we just do our things.

I’m learning how to live a no hope life.
Sometimes a book page has your coffee stain
and more signs that remain of what we had
are in my head, only to come out when I’m alone.

You seem to be doing alright, I’m told.
Maybe I would feel better if you were
miserable too. Your coffee stains and me
are fading lunatics, they some more than me.

Comments on: "Fading lunatics" (6)

  1. Loved this, the internal rhyme, Ina. Perspective AFTER love fades is tricky, isn’t it? Amy Barlow Liberatore http://sharplittlepencil.com/2013/02/02/about-the-unexpected-little-visitor-dialog/

  2. Ina this poem describes the angst I sometimes find myself confronting. Like the runaway memories that collide with the knowledge that … we can’t go back. Lovely poem for lost moments.

  3. Ina, thank you for taking the time to read my poem. “Fading Lunatics” is a poem that captures the emotion of love lost in a new and interesting way…which is not so easy to do. I am enjoying your poetry and look forward to reading more.

    Ron

    • Hi Ronald, I loved your poem! And thank you for reading my blog 🙂 I wrote “Fading lunatics” thinking of what really stays behind after a relationship, and I think fading coffee stains are about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

