I think I’ve said all that I am able,
after an hour of small talk, my jaw
wants to freeze in midst of conversation.

My hand goes for the cake on the table
but the family dog puts his paw
on my arm. Won’t let go with persuasion.

The people say what a nice dog it is,
and it’s starting to drool all over me.
while its grinning at me with those dentals

I want it gone, but it’s starting to kiss
my hands. Of how to behave well, I see
it surely does not know fundamentals.

And it’s only half past four, so I see.
An hour to go to be civilized.
Not sure I can stretch my smile much longer.

I say thank you to one more cup of tea
before I shall get that dog brutalized
and I don’t care that it’s so much stronger.

I watch how the hound is eating all beef
and drinking from half full glasses of beer,
getting a manical look on its face.

At last it is time to gracefully leave
and to lie what a nice time I had here.
I think I’ll never return to this place.

😉

Comments on: "Invited to tea at a doglovers house" (8)

  1. This is fun Ina – black humour, but humour nonetheless!

    • 🙂 Hi John, thank you very much, I am glad you liked! I do love dogs, but they can be very present 🙂

  2. Great poem, it is funny but true! I was feeling you all the way through the poem! I love dogs but when friends come over I put mine away! I want my friends to enjoy themselves. Very nicely written Ina!

    • Thank you Wendell. I had a dog for 17 years, she could be very enthousiastic 🙂 Good idea to put your dog away when you have guests!

  3. Great poem Ina!

    I could feel it all the way! Lol

    L&H xx

  4. Some things … some places … are not for revisiting. Wonderful description of your experience. 🙂

Leave a Reply

