Waiting for an owl

I waited longer than I wanted to
for our sign to show up in the woods,
a sign we had agreed on, you and me,
on your death-bed of green linen tree leaves.

Exactly then, when I would think of you,
an owl was to appear and say the word.
Magic might be possible for lovers.
I waited. Then I thought of you so strong.

But there was silence when I said your name,
before I heard the caw above my head.
So like you to send me a crow instead,
a mile too far and minutes overdue.

Comments on: "Waiting for an owl" (7)

  1. Those last two lines had me laughing out loud.

    Terrific

    Stay warm and dry

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • πŸ™‚ Hi David,
      thank you very much. I suppose it is what we want to believe, that makes reality? πŸ˜‰

      You stay warm and dry the same!

      Arohanui πŸ™‚
      Ina
      xxx

  2. Love it!

    Those last two lines are brilliant! πŸ™‚

    L&H xx

  3. Such a mystical magical journey you had me on … and then the ending … nice to know those spirits still have a sense of humor and ‘themselves’! XO

Leave a Reply

