I shall not rage

Once more the mirror puts me in my place
while skin is trying hard to camouflage
what’s left of once my body now I age,
but see, I shall not rage, I shall not rage.

Never mind the hollow eyes that stare at me,
and follow me in bitter silenced spite
across the room, where clothes and blankets lie
about our love. The mirror tells me why.

Still, when you come at nights and find me here
regret me not, forget me not. Love me.
I shall not understand you and your choice,
as long a whisper will be in your voice.

Comments on: "I shall not rage" (12)

  1. To live is to age…to accept that fact to be alive…

  2. You and your words will always be beauty in my sight Ina…

  3. In the Blogosphere, it is inner beauty which is much more noticeable, and you score very highly in that way

  4. Ah, mirrors in bedrooms are for the young!!!

    Making love in bedrooms is an activity wasted on the young!! πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David,
      lol, I happen to have a very old mirror I inhereted from my mother, it’s standing in the bedroom because there is no place elsewhere for it and I hate it πŸ™‚ But I would hate it if I was young too. It’s like sharing the room with a nosy twin sister πŸ™‚

      Arohanui
      Ina
      xxx

  5. You words sing out your beauty, wisdom, wit and great spirit, Ina – and they make you ageless! XO

  6. This is very good. Ina. Thought provoking stuff. I have favourite mirrors at home. I wont look in the others!! Lol something to do with the light I think. Who am I trying to kid?! Lol

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you! I am glad to take off my glasses, than I see much kinder in mirrors πŸ™‚
      L&H xx

Leave a Reply

