Farewell

Like a captain on a ship that is about to sink
I see you standing in a mist,
and you have eyes that know.
I think your eyes matter the most. And hands.
The captain stays on board. All others go.

The sea takes all, and closes silently
over the wreck the ship is now.
I see you. The mist is getting dense, but there
you are, a last glimpse and I know you’re gone.
We both say a farewell. It is all done.

Comments on: "Farewell" (10)

  1. Nice extended metaphor! πŸ™‚

  2. Your words once more touch this foggy and sinking heart…

  3. Makes me think of the Titanic. Sad but powerful

  4. Another beautiful sad poem.

    I think eyes matter most πŸ™‚ more than hands although I actually would include arms up there with eyes! Lol

    L&H xx

  5. Hi, Ina. I am going to try to keep up with your posts on a daily basis instead of always having to catch up with my favorite bloggers of which, of course, you are one!

    ‘The sea takes all, and closes silently
    over the wreck the ship is now.’

    This metaphor is excellent for what is done is done … let the past swallow it up … let it find its resting place in our memories. Beautiful!

    • Hi Diane thank you so much for saying so and for reading. I can well imagine I do too many postings to keep up! But if I put them here, at least I can find them πŸ™‚ My filing skills are not that good.

      I am glad you like! πŸ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

