Welcome to the island

Another ferry is bringing in strangers
and we shall await them while we stand on the quay
not looking at them directly, but from a corner.
They are new here, what do they know to expect,
the Germans, the campers, the schoolchildren.

One by one disembarking now,
look how they fear us,
and with good reason
as we are the locals,
we know where the shops are,
but we won’t tell them.
We shall point them into wrong directions
and we shall make it rain all their holiday long.

Comments on: "Welcome to the island" (20)

  1. fauxcajun said:

    Hah! Not a very neighborly thing to do. At first I thought this was a poem about Ellis Island back a century or more ago. But at this point I am not sure. I understand the reasoning behind the poem, however. No one likes for new people to come and maybe take their jobs.

    • It is about tourism here where I live πŸ™‚ I notice how some of the locals look somewhat down on our guests, but not all of us are like that really πŸ™‚

  2. bless your poetry writing.

    at times, we must let go to achieve.

  3. Ahh – poor tourists – but with any luck they might meet you…

  4. I read that with a smile. I’ve got a very naughty streak so “giving the wrong directions” is not something I would do, but the idea is very amusing

    • I am glad it made you smile. When I was a child, we children got instructions to always give the wrong directions to German tourists. That has changed, I am glad to say, but still some hostility seems to be around. I think if they could make it rain, they would lol.

  5. You make me smile with this.

    Good job the locals in Whitby are not like that!!! πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • I am pleased it gave a smile πŸ™‚ I remember the hospitality there,
      That is why I like to be in Whitby!

      Arohanui πŸ™‚
      xxx

  6. This explains a lot! πŸ˜€

  7. Love this!

    Im not sure about how tourists are treated but there are villages here in England where I have heard you have to live there about 10 years before you are totally accepted!! I think I will stay where I am!

    Sorry if Ive missed a couple of your posts but Ive had a hell of a week organising this damn splint. It still isn’t right. 😦

    L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you! lol well local people can be a bit… local!

      I am sorry about the splint, I hope it will be settled soon. Love and hugs xx

  8. This is mischievously amusing, Ina, but I think at the same time you’ve hinted at a common aspect of human nature.

  9. The possessiveness of people for a place and way of life can be quite intimidating! But I hear irony in this piece … that it is as much about what the visitors are thinking of the locals as the other way around! (I remember being on a coach tour in Ireland in the 1980’s – and how some of the other tourists were very disappointed that the Irish were living in such nice little houses without any pigs and chickens in their front yards!)

    • πŸ™‚ I missed this comment somehow! lol I suppose when you come for the pittoresque, it better be there πŸ™‚

  10. Us vs. Them…it so basic an instinct, so deep in our bones…so tragic for the human race.

Leave a Reply

