His Mac

Between a winter jack and a nylon furry coat
his Mac is hanging there, as if he might return,
as if he isn’t dead at all. His scent is still afloat
between a winter jack and a nylon furry coat,
his boots – with all the dirt still from the road
attached, not cleaned – are nobody’s concern.
His Mac is hanging there, as if he might return,
as if he isn’t dead at all. His scent is still afloat.

On Nick’s blog I found 3 superb triolets (Gone Cycling Again) so I tried to do one too.

Comments on: "His Mac" (8)

  1. Especially meaningful and understandable for someone who has lost a loved one very recently. Mother passed Sept 17 and have kept only her death bed sheet, two night gowns and two robes worn in her closing days and her sewing kit.. I scattered her ashes Sunday as this week was the time my son would be here. I finally got everyone together but she was with us in spirit only. The term Mac might not be familiar to speakers of American English in warm climate areas.

    s

    • Hi Carl, your mother would have been very moved if she knew about this ceremony I think. It was done with much love!
      Ah, the Mackintosh raincoats … Like the Wellington boots, (Wellies) they are famous world wide suerely!

  2. The details are just right in this, Ina, to evoke a strong and lasting mood.
    And happy new year to you by the way!

  3. Amazing. Economic, with every woord having a place in image building. I regard my visits to your Blog as a massive treat. Thankyou

  4. Deeply moving and beautifully constructed Ina. Triolet is a form I don’t know but it works so well in its flowing repetition…

    • Hi John, thank you! I have done some triolets before, it is a nice change to try more formal poetry, though I am never sure I am doing it the way I should. 🙂

Leave a Reply

