Into the next year!

And we shall march on:
the pensioners, the children
the mother and her little son,
the teacher and some
giggling girls in Sunday dresses
all following the band,
with the baker hitting the big drum
and the butcher blowing
his enormous cheeks as he impresses,
playing on the sousaphone,
and everyone is going
with joy into the brand new year,
no one will stand aside or be alone
when the band is passing here.
And while their boat is drifting on
we’ll still hear them play
when they are gone
into another day.

*

Everyone a very happy 2013!

image from the Dutch movie “Fanfare” (1958)

(this is a repost of last year, I am a bit busy but I wanted to wish everyone a very good 2013.)

2012 is over. For some people it was a bad year, for others fantastic.

Personally, it has been a great year, with a few ups (Veritas got published, I met some very nice people, also online! My family is still in good health, my eye got fixed, I still write novels for a living) , and a few downs (lets forget them lol) and also very good memories.

I hope next year will bring good times for everyone. It won’t be easy I think, with the economy, the wars everywhere, hunger and natural disasters, so  good luck everyone! Lets help each other when things get worse, and most important, let there be peace…

Comments on: "Into the next year!" (20)

  1. Ik wens je gelukkig jaarwisseling en nieuw jaar. Ina, wees creatief !

  2. Hi Ina.

    Happy New Year to you and your family!

    I like rhis poem; i actually don’t remember it from last year so it is lovely and fresh for me! It’s a.very uplifting poem but I am strugling to be uplifted. new pain medication just making me fel ill and depressed so not a good start to 2013. Someone somewhere said “keep on keeping on” so that is what I will do. Lol L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you. I am sorry to learn about the pain medication, lets hope the doctor will soon find out which is the right one for you!
      Love and hugs xx

  3. The most original ‘end of year’ poem I’ve read. Allied beautifully with a great photo. Glyn

  4. Have a lucky ’13.

    M

  5. I have loved reading your posts in 2012 . May I wish you a very happy and fruitful 2013.

  6. All the best for 2013.

  7. David Eric Cummins said:

    Happy New Year, Ina!

  8. Enjoyed that poem.
    A very happy and prosperous year to you Ina.
    Ian

  9. Hi. Enjoyed reading this poem – and am enjoying perusing your blog. I’ll return to read some more!

Leave a Reply

