Being apart

More often when you are not here with me,
I sense you in the way the raindrops fall
near me, a rhythm that explains it all,
but not why you are not right here with me.

Near me, the water falls apart in parts
that splash against my feet, my skin, my hair,
reminding me of days we didn’t care
about goodbyes nor raining that now starts.

More often when you are not here with me,
the loss we didn’t feel then, comes in parts
of splashing raindrops, and that’s how it starts
to be reality, the truth to me.

Near me I sense you close to skin, my hair
and in the rhythm when the raindrops fall.
No. I do not want to explain it all.
For me it is enough to know you care.

Comments on: "Being apart" (8)

  1. Lovely write! Reminds me of the many paradoxical relationships of my life. Your poem really grasps the concept of “here, but not here; feel your presence, but can’t see you – wonderment at how it all can happen and not happen at the same time”. Thanks for picking up my feed. I think I am going to be very happy reading your poetry. Toni

    • Hi Toni, thank you very much, I am very pleased you like my poem! πŸ™‚ I shall look forward to reading more of your blog!

  2. Wow Ina, that writing speakes so much, I read it a few times and still got the same sensation as the first, it reminds me so much of something or sometime I cant recall.
    Fantastic
    Emu

  3. A beautiful love poem.

    Made me feel quite warm just reading it

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David, thank you very much πŸ™‚ I am pleased it raised your temperature in this Winter time πŸ™‚ it must be all the rain that is falling now, that inspired it!

      Arohanui πŸ™‚
      xxx

Leave a Reply

