What we never said

After a while, the conversation ends as we are done with speech,
with nothing more to say, there is some time to kill,
so silently we walk on, side by side over the beach,
to dwell in past and present with the tide,
and no more talking taking place,
this will be our way to say farewell. My friend, the ferry waits for you.

Watching you sail away, I’m thinking of the gaps I should have liked to fill.
Perhaps it’s so that words mean more to us than normally they do,
when they remain unsaid? As if unspoken they might add some truth?
I don’t know if it mattered, still.

Comments on: "What we never said" (4)

  1. Melancholy & a bit mournful and lovely, emotional writing…

  2. ‘Perhaps it’s so that words mean more to us than normally they do,
    when they remain unsaid? ‘

    I do think that might be so, Ina. If I think of all that has gone unsaid in my life …

Leave a Reply

